Peace Is A Choice

Could it be the change in seasons? The cooler weather and the days getting darker sooner? Perhaps I’m alone in saying this but the energies feel heavy and the crazies are out.

After reliving another misadventure with an energy-zapping individual I was in full force with a blog post rant/rambling on how I prevail in never getting the last word. Until I saw a painting which I’ve now brought over to my desk.

Peace is a choice.

Just to clarify — I’m not talking about peace that can be granted through religion or world peace for nations across, well, the world.

The painting speaks to me to choose peace in everyday actions such as not writing a blog post focused on a negative experience. Wasting more energy and time: your’s and mine. To not hold a grudge or ill-feelings since “holding a grudge against someone is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die.” Makes sense to me. (Thanks Malachy McCourt for that gem.)

Instead of continuing the out-pouring of negativity, its an opportunity to wish for positive things to come back towards us. As I’ve heard it and have tried to put into practice: Put your good intentions into the universe.

To wrap up, otherwise I’m likely to ramble on and on, here’s an excellent quote:

“We are what we think. All that we are arises with our thoughts. With our thoughts, we make the world.” ~ Buddha

One thought on “Peace Is A Choice

  1. Great blog entry…insightful and wise. In Ayurvedic healing, this is the time of year for the air/wind element, vata and “flightiness” perhaps. Keeping a sense of grounding is important. What a perfect goal for all of us to choose peace in our lives…

What do you think? (Don't hold back, please share!)

