The Imperfect Body

What has happened to the credibility of this blog? First I try to promote a blog post and solicit readers by going on Twitter and saying that I’ve got an illustration of a “boob“? Now this?

Imperfect Body
The so called "Perfect Body!"

This is unacceptable.

What’s Wrong With This Picture

This woman is unhealthy. Jesus F. Christ, I can see her hips bulging out of her skin like it was a cyst, and of course, there’s the outline of her ribs.

Women, we don’t have to be this skinny. Ever.

She’s also an unhealthy representation of women. Other women will – and are – aspiring to look like her. All the time.

How do I know this? Procrastinating, as per usual, but this time on Pinterest.com and this photo was on the dashboard with the caption “perfect body!” And while I see naked women like Haley Joel Osment sees dead people (read: courtesy of movies, TV shows, magazines … etc., etc.) this particular image really bothered me.

Women, Grow A Backbone! And Get A Little Fat.

It bothers me because 1 in 200 American women suffers from anorexia.1 It bothers me because 85% of patients develop this disorder between the ages of 13 and 18.2 It bothers me because I have often worried that I’m overweight.

ENOUGH!

Let’s make the focus being less about having perfect bodies and instead on being healthy. And guess what, having a little fat is healthy.

And while I’m not a dietitian by any stretch of the imagination I am of the mindset that having your cake and eating it too is much healthier than abstaining and growing resentful of food. I’ve also experienced that firsthand courtesy of Scottsdale waitresses when they met me, my love for food and the desire to keep it down.

Stop Looking For Perfection

I did a Google search to find the “perfect body” and surprise-surprise the images that kicked back were very simliar to Little Miss Perfect Body at the start of this blog entry. But many of these images, I’m certain, have been photoshopped.

Also who’s to say that Miss Perfect Body doesn’t have a little more meat on those bones but wasn’t photoshopped like this model.

Be that as it may, to search for the perfect female body does not exist because we all have different body types. And thank goodness as everyone is looking for something different — bums, breasts, legs … etc.

So why do we keep trying to look like this one woman?

Bring It To A Close

I can see this rant could go on for quite a long time but I need to wrap it up. And you need to chime in. Am I off base? Should we all look like Little Miss Perfect Body? If you say yes, then F you.

No, seriously.

Or I could just say this:
Perfect Girls Aren't Real

References:

  1. Eating Disorder Statistics
  2. National Statistics for Anorexia
  3. Advertisements

10 thoughts on “The Imperfect Body

  1. First glance was like “Whoa!” cause I was surprised to see boobies on your page. Then it was like “holy shit, she’s so anorexic!” Plus she doesn’t look too happy about her own self-image based on the expression on her face.

  2. What I don’t understand about this whole ‘Look emaciated and yr hot’ thing that has gone of for decades is that almost every guy I have ever spoken to doesn’t think girls like this are actually attractive. That being said, like the catholic school girl outfit fantasy…we’ve been force fed this image for so long that it’s almost ingrained in all of us that this is what the ideal is.

    Great article, and although I don’t think this image will ever change, every little bit helps…hope this reaches some of those people that need the help.

    • What a great point! When I was looking up statistics for this post I found an article that I think I’ll incorporate in to a secondary post but it discussed how men are looking for women with more curves/more meat on those bones but women strive to be so thin.

  3. Interesting topic of conversation…We should probably be thinking more about having a balanced, healthy lifestyle than what the number says on the scale.

  4. I agree with 99% of what you say. One thing you said, however, really struck me as being unfair. “This woman is unhealthy.” How exactly might you have any gauge about the health of this woman? Yes she is skinny, but you have no idea what her diet is like, her activity levels, or any other factor in this woman’s life. I mean, you said it yourself in this article– “…to search for the perfect female body does not exist because we all have different body types.” By nature we ALL have different body types. Some people are skinny, some are fat, some have big hips, some have small breasts, etc. So to say that this woman is unhealthy based solely on this picture is completely unfair and judgmental. Some people are naturally thin and they deserve as much respect as the women you are fighting for who might be naturally curvier (like myself!). I understand the message you are trying to get across, that your body in its natural state should not be shameful, but keep in mind that telling a woman she is too thin when she is a naturally slender person is JUST AS BAD as telling a woman she is too fat. Respect all bodies, because every body is a good body as long as it’s being treated with respect and love.

    • Hi Gillian,

      Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting. I appreciate it.

      I think you’re right to call me out as I was a little emotional when I wrote this post. I also created a response to this post, you should check it out: https://littlestmartha.wordpress.com/2011/08/01/the-other-side-of-the-scale-american-bodies/

      However, what I find unhealthy about this woman is the societal view that she is “perfect” vis-a-vis the caption that another Pininterest user had made about her body.

      I would take it a step further and say that she errs on being a little too thin, which is unhealthy referencing the WHR (Waist to Hip Ratio) which has been used as an indicator or measure of the health of a person, and the risk of developing serious health conditions.

      When a woman is too thin, and her hips are protruding out like this woman’s, she’s less likely to carry a child to term or survive childbirth.

      Not healthy.

      This woman could have a little more fat on her. And then I’d say she’s a little bit closer to “perfect.”

  5. I do think this will change, because historically, these things do change.

    It used to be considered beautiful to be fat and blotchy, because that showed that you were wealthy enough that you could afford to overeat and didn’t have to work in the sun.

    During plague times, larger bodies were also valued, because it meant you weren’t sick.

    If you look at bollywood movies from not too long ago, just before they became popular in the US, you’ll probably notice that most of the male actors are much larger than any actors in America.

    In the 1920s, it was “in” to be skinny, but with really small breasts.

    I don’t know if we’ll ever reach a time when everyone’s body is accepted and natural body shapes are considered beautiful, but I do know that different body shapes go in and out of fashion, just like almost everything.

    • Thank you so much for your comment, Emma! You make an excellent point and I share your wish that one day each body type is truly accepted — and not in words but in actions.

      Thanks for visiting!

What do you think? (Don't hold back, please share!)

