Preparing For Dia De Los Muertos

I did not celebrate Dia De Los Muertos growing up. Instead it was Halloween, like everyone else. And this year, just like last year, I’ll carve a pumpkin, eat the seeds and hand out candy to the children dressed up as pop icons and ghouls. However, this year, I’m also celebrating Dia De Los Muertos — Day Of The Dead.

As I don’t know much about this holiday other than it’s deeply rooted in Mexican culture and unlike Halloween it’s a celebration of life (as death is a part of life), I’m dedicating October to learn as much as I can and try and get artsy-fartsy.

My past attempts to being crafty for Dia De Los Muertos where mediocre at best, so I’ll attempt to follow the instructions as provided by Crafy Chica.

Paper Mache Mishap

My sad little paper mache skulls.

Crafty Chicas Crafts That I’ll Try And Create

Research Begins:

Below is a quick video, courtesy of the Travel Channel that provides a quick overview of Day of The Dead. Enjoy!

What Do You Think?

What do you think? (Don't hold back, please share!)

